Tearing down anti-muni broadband barriers in 2015?

Building the Gigabit City

hole in wallI’m going to go out on a limb and make a couple of New Year’s predictions, a practice I’ve always avoided like the plague. But after my research for my latest Community Broadband Snapshot Report that addresses state legislative barriers to public-owned broadband, I feel pretty confident about this.

First, I predict there will be a surge of effort to counter the impact of current state laws that prevent municipalities and public utilities from building or expanding their broadband networks. Second, there will be a number of legislative bodies that, at the behest of giant telco and cable company lobbyists, will try to add new restrictive laws to the books, which I expect will be met with fierce opposition.

If-Then Laws Minefield Laws Total Bans
Alabama Florida Arkansas
California Louisiana Missouri
Colorado N. Carolina Montana
Iowa S. Carolina Nebraska
Michigan Utah Tennessee
Minnesota Virginia
Nevada
Pennsylvania
Washington
Wisconsin

View original post 548 more words