Presentation on Data Scraping at IP Section Conference on Emerging Technologies

IP and Emerging Technologies Conference

I was excited to return to the California Lawyers Association’s IP Section’s IP and Emerging Technologies Conference (formerly IP and the Internet Conference). I have spoken at this conference many times and, when I was on the IP Section Executive Committee, I ran the 2016 conference in San Francisco.

This year I spoke on the Emerging Law of Data Scraping. I started by discussing a conversation I had with “The Graduate” producer Lawrence Turman concerning this iconic scene which elicited, according to the American Film Institute, one of the top 100 movie quotations of all time. I asked him, shortly before COVID, what would the word be today. His response – “data”.

My slides are below. Thanks to Emily Yu for the invite.